Resilience in the transaction processing community is paramount in the face of continuously aggressive cybersecurity threats and attacks. As a result, the American Transaction Processors Coalition (ATPC) decided to reconstitute and rebrand its cybersecurity working group, created in 2014, with a new mission and leadership during Cybersecurity Awareness Month to ensure the industry is armed to defend itself.

The Cyber Council’s mission is to identify best practices and areas of shared risk and understand the tools needed to address the evolving cyber threat across America’s payments processing ecosystem. The Cyber Council will spend the next two years developing and sharing a vision to strengthen the industry’s ability to identify, protect, detect, respond to and recover from cyberattacks. Leading the way will be Cyber Council Director Norma Krayem, Vice President and Chair of Van Scoyoc Associates Cybersecurity & Privacy Policy and Regulatory Team, and Chairwoman Kara Hill, Chief Information Security Officer at FIS.

Norma Krayem brings more than 20 years of global policy experience in technology, cyber and privacy risk and has held executive positions in the U.S. Departments of State, Commerce and Transportation. In her role at Van Scoyoc Associates, Krayem focuses on global cybersecurity and operational risk across critical infrastructure and how to best integrate emerging technology within that infrastructure while also addressing the privacy risks. She is also a regular expert panelist in the Cyber Future Dialogue Conferences in Davos, Switzerland.

As Chief Information Security Officer, Kara Hill holds the highest IT position within FIS influencing both the department’s culture and policies. As the payments sector continues to battle cyber threats, Hill’s priority is protecting consumers and helping to coordinate efforts with the local and national governments as necessary to combat these threats.

“The ATPC Cyber Council is in very good hands under Norma’s and Kara’s leadership, these two women are leading global experts in cybersecurity and risk assessment,” said H. West Richards, ATPC Executive Director. “Their policy making expertise and government connections will be a great benefit to ATPC members and their consumers.”

Rebranding as the ATPC Cyber Council in 2020, the Council creates a community of cybersecurity thought leaders to facilitate regular and focused discussions on cyber resiliency for the Payment and FinTech industries. The Council holds quarterly meetings to: identify core risks and common attack scenarios; enhance public and private relationships to increase cybersecurity policy and legislative efforts within the industry; and share resiliency standards and best practices for ATPC members.

Past forums have featured panel experts including: Michael D’Ambrosio, Assistant Director of the U.S. Secret Service; Randall Toussaint, Director of Corporate Solutions and Cyber Security for the Georgia Department of Economic Development; Michael Farrell, Director of Privacy & Security at Microsoft; and Bridgette Walsh, acting Deputy Assistant Director of the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency.

The ATPC Cyber Council will reconvene in November to discuss goals, next steps for the Council’s working groups and the 2021 Cyber Forum.